The castle was originally completed in 1597 by Ukita
Naoie, finished by his son Hideie. However, the majority
of the buildings were destroyed from air raids during
WWII. It was reconstructed with concrete walls in 1966,
complete with air conditioning and elevators. Only a
single structure from the castle’s original completion
remains, the Moon Viewing Turret (Tsukimi Yagura),
which is a designated cultural property. This building
along with foundations from previous buildings illustrate
the complexity of the castle’s former structures.
The six-storied main keep of the castle currently serves as a museum and observation room. Within its modern interior are exhibits on the construction and history of the Okayama Castle. The castle itself is located along the Asahi River, which was the former castle moat. Across the river is the famed Korakuen Garden, one of Japan’s three best landscape gardens. There are often events held on the castle grounds, which holds excellent views of the city and nearby garden. Japanese pottery classes are also offered inside the main keep.