×

REQUEST INFORMATION


Don't know which tour is suitable for you?

Let us help you. Please tell us more about your interests. We will send some suggestions based on your needs.

Departure Date *
Number of Nights *
Your First Trip to Japan? *
Yes No
Travel Style *
What would you like to see and do?
Title *
Last Name *
Country *
Email Address *
Confirm Email Address *
You can also reach us by Phone (1-909-988-8885) or Whatsapp (1-909- 818-5901)
header image

Gion Geisha District

Home     >
Gion Geisha District

Gion Geisha District

Gion is a district located near Yasaka Shrine and is east of the Kamo River. A long time ago the district was an area where travelers to the shrine could rest. Gion later developed to include restaurants, shops, and teahouses. It also became the area known for where you can enjoy performances by Geisha (artisan) and maiko (apprentice Geisha). The attractiveness of the place is the many traditional wooden machiya (townhouses) in the area.

In Gion the most popular area is Hanami-koji Street, which stretches from Shijo Avenue to Kenninji Temple. Along this street are many expensive restaurants that serve Kaiseki ryori (Japanese haute cuisine). It is in this area that you can find restaurants that have Geisha and maiko entertain the guests. Another scenic street is in the Shirakawa Area that is on the other side of Shijo Avenue towards Wakamatsu Street. There is a canal that runs through the area and is lined with willow trees. Like Hanami-koji Street, there are high end restaurants and teahouses, but it is less crowded compared to the other side.

Aside from restaurants there are a few shops that sell local goods like sweets, pickled food, and traditional crafts. The nearby Higashiyama District is one of the more preserved streets in Kyoto and you can find many shops selling various goods. It is a great place to pick up souvenirs that are unique to Kyoto. In July, there is the Gion Matsuri, which is one of the top three beautiful festivals in Japan. It is a festival hosted by the nearby Yasaka Shrine and is famed for the procession of floats. The floats are elaborately decorated and represent unique themes. There are some floats that are as tall as 25 meters and weigh over 12 tons. During the time of festival you can enjoy the festivities happening in the area like eating at food stalls, playing games, or trying various drinks.



Attraction Included Tours

    question mark icon         Tour#: GTM0063433

The Golden Route Japan Tour Spring (Reverse) arrow readmore icon

Nara / Kyoto / Koka / Hikone / Hakone / Mt Fuji / Tokyo

    138 reviews

Perfect introduction for first time visitors with limited time.

Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Save Status
Mon. Mar 10, 2025 Sun. Mar 16, 2025 US $2998.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Tue. Apr 15, 2025 Mon. Apr 21, 2025 US $2998.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Mon. Apr 21, 2025 Sun. Apr 27, 2025 US $2998.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. May 4, 2025 Sat. May 10, 2025 US $2998.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Tue. May 20, 2025 Mon. May 26, 2025 US $2998.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Mon. May 26, 2025 Sun. Jun 1, 2025 US $2998.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Tue. Mar 10, 2026 Mon. Mar 16, 2026 US $2998.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Mon. Apr 20, 2026 Sun. Apr 26, 2026 US $2998.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. May 3, 2026 Sat. May 9, 2026 US $2998.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Wed. May 20, 2026 Tue. May 26, 2026 US $2998.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Wed. May 20, 2026 Tue. May 26, 2026 US $2998.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Mon. May 25, 2026 Sun. May 31, 2026 US $2998.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
    question mark icon         Tour#: GTP0721986

The Golden Route Japan: Cherry Blossom Tour arrow readmore icon

Tokyo / Mt Fuji / Hakone / Hikone / Koka / Kyoto / Nara / Osaka

    138 reviews

Tour the must-see sights of Tokyo & Kyoto, enjoy cultural activities, and visit the best Japanese cherry blossom viewing spots in Japan.

Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Save Status
Tue. Mar 18, 2025 Mon. Mar 24, 2025 US $3198.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Mon. Mar 24, 2025 Sun. Mar 30, 2025 US $3198.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Thu. Mar 27, 2025 Wed. Apr 2, 2025 US $3198.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. Mar 30, 2025 Sat. Apr 5, 2025 US $3198.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Mon. Apr 7, 2025 Sun. Apr 13, 2025 US $3198.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Mon. Mar 16, 2026 Sun. Mar 22, 2026 US $3198.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Mon. Mar 23, 2026 Sun. Mar 29, 2026 US $3198.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Wed. Mar 25, 2026 Tue. Mar 31, 2026 US $3198.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. Mar 29, 2026 Sat. Apr 4, 2026 US $3198.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. Apr 5, 2026 Sat. Apr 11, 2026 US $3198.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. Apr 12, 2026 Sat. Apr 18, 2026 US $3198.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
    question mark icon         Tour#: GTE0149409

The Golden Route Japan (Reverse): Cherry Blossom Tour arrow readmore icon

Nara / Kyoto / Koka / Hikone / Hakone / Mt Fuji / Tokyo

    138 reviews

Celebrate the Japanese cherry blossom season at the must-see sites of Kyoto & Tokyo, and enjoy authentic cultural experiences.

Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Save Status
Wed. Mar 26, 2025 Tue. Apr 1, 2025 US $3198.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Fri. Apr 4, 2025 Thu. Apr 10, 2025 US $3198.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Mon. Apr 7, 2025 Sun. Apr 13, 2025 US $3198.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Tue. Mar 24, 2026 Mon. Mar 30, 2026 US $3198.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Thu. Apr 2, 2026 Wed. Apr 8, 2026 US $3198.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Mon. Apr 6, 2026 Sun. Apr 12, 2026 US $3198.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Mon. Apr 13, 2026 Sun. Apr 19, 2026 US $3198.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
    question mark icon         Tour#: GTA1883782

The Golden Triangle of Japan Tour Spring (Reverse) arrow readmore icon

Nara / Kyoto / Kanazawa / Shirakawa-go / Takayama / Matsumoto / Mt Fuji / Hakone / Tokyo

    78 reviews

The must see sights of Tokyo, Mt Fuji, Takayama, Shirakawa-go, Kanazawa & Kyoto.

Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Save Status
Sun. Apr 20, 2025 Sun. Apr 27, 2025 US $3298.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. Apr 19, 2026 Sun. Apr 26, 2026 US $3298.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
    question mark icon         Tour#: GTO1646800

The Golden Triangle of Japan Tour Spring arrow readmore icon

Tokyo / Hakone / Mt Fuji / Matsumoto / Takayama / Shirakawa-go / Kanazawa / Kyoto / Nara / Osaka

    78 reviews

The must see sights of Tokyo, Mt Fuji, Takayama, Shirakawa-go, Kanazawa & Kyoto.

Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Save Status
Sat. May 17, 2025 Sat. May 24, 2025 US $3298.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sat. May 16, 2026 Sat. May 23, 2026 US $3298.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now