AJT Logo

Shikoku | Kagawa | Kotohira

Kompirasan Shrine (Kotohira-gu Shrine)

SHARE
View
Saved
Tours
View
Saved
Tours
Reserve
Tours
Search
Tours

Kompirasan Shrine (Kotohira-gu Shrine)

The Kompirasan Shrine, known as the guardian shrine of the sea, attracts thousands of worshipers a day, popular among fishermen, sailors and large shipping companies. Visiting this shrine can be a challenge for the hike towards the main shrines consisting of 1,368 stone steps. The complex of this shrine is unique among other shrines in Japan for its mixture between Shinto and Buddhism Temples. Elements and traits in the architecture and atmosphere are still available for worshipers to experience, even after the Meiji government enforced the separation of the two religions throughout Japan. Touristy souvenir shops and restaurants with specialty Sanuki Udon greet hikers at the half way point of the stairs among stone lanterns and structures along the way. A unique palanquin at the entrance of the shrine is offered to visitors, which only transports you up to the main gate of Kompirasan, regarded as the shrine with the most difficult approach in Japan. The statue of the Konpira inu, or Konpira Dog, refers to dogs that travel on behalf of their owners who could not personally visit the shrine. The information of the owner, along with the address and travel fees of the dog are placed in a pouch for friendly travelers to lead all the way to the Kompirasan Shrine, a traditional popularly applied during the end of Edo period. Special luck charms featuring the Konpira inu is available at this location, a popular souvenir unique to Kompirasan Shrine.



Attraction Included Tours

×

Japan Deluxe Tours

Visit the must see sites of Japan with group sizes ranging from 12 to 35 people.

These tours are great for first time visitors to Japan looking for comfortable accommodation with all entrance fees and most meals included. Our Japan Deluxe Tours are accomodated with professional tour guides, fluent in both Japanese and English, to ensure an educational and valuable visit. Air-conditoned, private coaches are also included, so you can enjoy a comfortable and hassle-free time in Japan. Our tours range from 7 to 21 days, to various regions of Japan.

Deluxe-Plus Small Group Tours

Experience the culture of Japan at a slower pace with groups of 10 to 18 people.
(Smaller group departure available)

These tours combine enrichment, enjoyment, and education with time to truly absorb and appreciate your surroundings. Our Deluxe-Plus small group tours are created to cater to those who are interested in having a deeper understanding of Japan's culture. You will have the opportunity to participate in culturally rich activities and visit destinations only locals may know. Experience luxurious hotels and travel at a leisurely pace when you book a Deluxe-Plus small group tour.

Budget Group Tours

Our Budget Tours are designed for our guests who are on a limited budget.

Explore the must-see sights and enjoy the hassle-free trip to Japan at an affordable price. Our most cost-effective way to see the highlights of Japan while staying in budget-friendly accommodations. If you would like to have a quick stop to sample the must-see sights of Japan, or plan to explore Japan on your own but would like to take a short trip to learn about Japan before your self-guided journeys. These are the tours for you.

Active Small Group Tours

Travel Japan more flexibly in groups of 6 to 13 people using public transportation.

Explore Japan off the beaten path via Japanese public transportation, walking, hiking, cycling and more. Take more time to enjoy local experiences and picturesque landscape. Our Active Small Group Tours combine the best of cultural destinations with off-the-beaten-path via Japanese public transportation, Discover the country of Japan the way the locals do and see Japan from a different angle. A focus on getting away from the crowds and into the real Japan, see the diversity of Japan’s countryside unfold before your eyes.

1 2 3 4 >> see all
Anime Flavor: Tokyo & Kyoto with Hiroshima Cherry 
Blossom 
Tour

Group Tour | Luxury        

Anime Flavor: Tokyo & Kyoto with Hiroshima Cherry Blossom Tour
40 reviews

11 Days 10 Nights | from US $4698.00

Tokyo / Mt Fuji / Hakone / Hikone / Koka / Kyoto / Nara / Osaka / Himeji / Kurashiki / Hiroshima / Shimanami Kaido / Obokekyo Gorge / Kotohira / Takamatsu / Kobe
Anime Flavor Tour is the best thing to fulfill your Otaku needs. We will go to some of the popular anime spots while learning about Japan’s culture.
Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Compare Status
Mon. Mar 17, 2025 Thu. Mar 27, 2025 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sun. Mar 23, 2025 Wed. Apr 2, 2025 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Mar 29, 2025 Tue. Apr 8, 2025 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sun. Apr 6, 2025 Wed. Apr 16, 2025 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sun. Mar 15, 2026 Wed. Mar 25, 2026 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sun. Mar 22, 2026 Wed. Apr 1, 2026 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Tue. Mar 24, 2026 Fri. Apr 3, 2026 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Mar 28, 2026 Tue. Apr 7, 2026 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Apr 4, 2026 Tue. Apr 14, 2026 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Apr 11, 2026 Tue. Apr 21, 2026 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Anime Flavor: Tokyo & Kyoto with Hiroshima Summer 
Tour

Group Tour | Luxury        

Anime Flavor: Tokyo & Kyoto with Hiroshima Summer Tour
40 reviews

11 Days 10 Nights | from US $4498.00

Tokyo / Mt Fuji / Hakone / Koka / Kyoto / Nara / Osaka / Himeji / Kurashiki / Hiroshima / Shimanami Kaido / Oobokekyo Gorge / Kotohira / Takamatsu / Kobe
Anime Flavor Tour is the best thing to fulfill your Otaku needs. We will go to some of the popular anime spots while learning about Japan’s culture.
Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Compare Status
Sat. Jun 1, 2024 Tue. Jun 11, 2024 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Jun 15, 2024 Tue. Jun 25, 2024 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Jun 29, 2024 Tue. Jul 9, 2024 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Fri. Jul 5, 2024 Mon. Jul 15, 2024 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Jul 13, 2024 Tue. Jul 23, 2024 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Aug 17, 2024 Tue. Aug 27, 2024 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sun. Jun 1, 2025 Wed. Jun 11, 2025 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Jun 14, 2025 Tue. Jun 24, 2025 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Jun 28, 2025 Tue. Jul 8, 2025 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Jul 5, 2025 Tue. Jul 15, 2025 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Jul 12, 2025 Tue. Jul 22, 2025 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Aug 16, 2025 Tue. Aug 26, 2025 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Jun 13, 2026 Tue. Jun 23, 2026 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Jun 27, 2026 Tue. Jul 7, 2026 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sun. Jul 5, 2026 Wed. Jul 15, 2026 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Jul 11, 2026 Tue. Jul 21, 2026 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Jul 25, 2026 Tue. Aug 4, 2026 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Aug 15, 2026 Tue. Aug 25, 2026 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Aug 29, 2026 Tue. Sep 8, 2026 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Anime Flavor: Tokyo & Kyoto with Hiroshima Autumn 
Tour

Group Tour | Luxury        

Anime Flavor: Tokyo & Kyoto with Hiroshima Autumn Tour
40 reviews

11 Days 10 Nights | from US $4498.00

Tokyo / Mt Fuji / Hakone / Koka / Kyoto / Nara / Osaka / Himeji / Kurashiki / Hiroshima / Shimanami Kaido / Oobokekyo Gorge / Kotohira / Takamatsu / Kobe
Anime Flavor Tour is the best thing to fulfill your Otaku needs. We will go to some of the popular anime spots while learning about Japan’s culture.
Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Compare Status
Sat. Sep 14, 2024 Tue. Sep 24, 2024 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Oct 12, 2024 Tue. Oct 22, 2024 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Sep 6, 2025 Tue. Sep 16, 2025 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Sep 20, 2025 Tue. Sep 30, 2025 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Oct 4, 2025 Tue. Oct 14, 2025 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Oct 18, 2025 Tue. Oct 28, 2025 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Sep 5, 2026 Tue. Sep 15, 2026 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Sep 19, 2026 Tue. Sep 29, 2026 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Oct 3, 2026 Tue. Oct 13, 2026 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Oct 17, 2026 Tue. Oct 27, 2026 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Best of Japan with Japanese Alps & Koyasan: Cherry 
Blossom Tour

Group Tour | Luxury        

Best of Japan with Japanese Alps & Koyasan: Cherry Blossom Tour
122 reviews

13 Days 12 Nights | from US $5498.00

Tokyo / Hakone / Mt Fuji / Matsumoto / Takayama / Shirakawa-go / Kanazawa / Kyoto / Nara / Osaka / Himeji / Kurashiki / Hiroshima / Shimanami Kaido / Obokekyo Gorge / Kotohira / Takamatsu / Kobe / Mt Yoshino / Koyasan
For those wishing to see the most well-known of Japan's sights, starting in Tokyo and ending at Koyasan, while viewing the lovely cherry blossoms.
Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Compare Status
Sat. Mar 29, 2025 Thu. Apr 10, 2025 US $5498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Mar 28, 2026 Thu. Apr 9, 2026 US $5498.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Best of Japan with Japanese Alps & Koyasan: Autumn 
Leaves Tour

Group Tour | Luxury        

Best of Japan with Japanese Alps & Koyasan: Autumn Leaves Tour
122 reviews

13 Days 12 Nights | from US $5398.00

Tokyo / Hakone / Mt Fuji / Matsumoto / Takayama / Shirakawa-go / Kanazawa / Kyoto / Nara / Osaka / Himeji / Kurashiki / Hiroshima / Shimanami Kaido / Obokekyo Gorge / Kotohira / Takamatsu / Kobe / Kashihara / Koyasan
For those wishing to see the most well-known of Japan's sights, starting in Tokyo and ending at Koyasan, while enjoying colorful autumn scenes.
Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Compare Status
Sat. Oct 26, 2024 Thu. Nov 7, 2024 US $5398.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Nov 1, 2025 Thu. Nov 13, 2025 US $5398.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
Sat. Oct 31, 2026 Thu. Nov 12, 2026 US $5398.00 Tokyo Osaka Luxury Save this tour Book Now  
1 2 3 4 >> see all