Eiheiji Temple is located in the mountains outside of Fukui on a cedar covered slope. It was founded in 1244 by Dogen, a Buddhist scholar who first introduced Soto Zen from China. Eiheiji is one of the two main temples of the Soto School of Zen Buddhism. The temple complex has over 70 structures and buildings, which are connected by the sheltered walkways. During the autumn season the temple becomes extra attractive as the abundant trees change to the hues of fall. Those visiting the temple enter through the reception hall, also known as the Kichijokaku, where they will receive a short orientation before being able to explore the grounds. Since it is an active monastery with over 200 monks practicing Zen Buddhism there are restrictions in what you are allowed to photograph. The oldest structure on the grounds is the Sanmon Gate, which was rebuilt in 1749. The Buddha Hall is located in the center of the complex and houses statues of past, present, and future Buddha.