header image

Owakudani

Home     >
Owakudani

Owakudani

Owakudani is a volcanic valley that has sulfur vents releasing fumes. The volcanic activity attracts the interest of many tourists. While there it is recommended to have the famed kuro tamago (black egg). It is a hard-boiled egg that was cooked in the hot springs with sulfuric properties. The black color comes from the chemical reaction with the sulfur in the water. It is said that eating one of the eggs will increase your life expectancy by seven years. They can be found along the short walking trail from the ropeway station. There are also hiking trails that lead to the peak of Mount Kamiyama and Mount Komagatake. There is also the Hakone Ropeway that goes over Owakudani. It is a thirty-minute ride starting from Sounzan and ending at Togendai station. From the ropeway you can see Lake Ashinoko, Mt. Fuji and the volcanic fume emitting from Owakudani.



Attraction Included Tours

    question mark icon         Tour#: GTO0914422

The Golden Route Japan Tour Spring: Kyoto Aoi Festival arrow readmore icon

Tokyo / Mt Fuji / Hakone / Hikone / Koka / Kyoto / Nara / Osaka

    134 reviews

The must see sights of Tokyo & Kyoto...plus the Aoi Festival.

Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Save Status
Sun. May 11, 2025 Sun. May 18, 2025 US $3398.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Mon. May 11, 2026 Mon. May 18, 2026 US $3398.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
    question mark icon         Tour#: GTH1555813

The Golden Triangle of Japan (Reverse): Cherry Blossom Tour arrow readmore icon

Nara / Kyoto / Kanazawa / Shirakawa-go / Takayama / Matsumoto / Mt Fuji / Hakone / Tokyo

    76 reviews

Experience both modern and traditional culture in Tokyo, Kyoto, Takayama & Kanazawa during Japan's cherry blossom season.

Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Save Status
Tue. Apr 1, 2025 Tue. Apr 8, 2025 US $3498.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Tue. Mar 31, 2026 Tue. Apr 7, 2026 US $3498.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
    question mark icon         Tour#: GTV0857030

The Golden Triangle of Japan: Cherry Blossom Tour arrow readmore icon

Tokyo / Hakone / Mt Fuji / Matsumoto / Takayama / Shirakawa-go / Kanazawa / Kyoto / Nara / Osaka

    76 reviews

Indulge in Japanese culture and visit the "must see" sites of Tokyo, Kyoto, Takayama & Kanazawa during the cherry blossom season.

Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Save Status
Mon. Mar 17, 2025 Mon. Mar 24, 2025 US $3498.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. Mar 23, 2025 Sun. Mar 30, 2025 US $3498.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sat. Mar 29, 2025 Sat. Apr 5, 2025 US $3498.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. Apr 6, 2025 Sun. Apr 13, 2025 US $3498.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. Mar 15, 2026 Sun. Mar 22, 2026 US $3498.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. Mar 22, 2026 Sun. Mar 29, 2026 US $3498.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sat. Mar 28, 2026 Sat. Apr 4, 2026 US $3498.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sat. Apr 4, 2026 Sat. Apr 11, 2026 US $3498.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
    question mark icon         Tour#: GTD0534710

The Golden Triangle of Japan (Reverse): Takayama Spring Festival & Cherry Blossoms arrow readmore icon

Nara / Kyoto / Kanazawa / Shirakawa- go / Takayama / Mt Fuji / Hakone / Tokyo

    76 reviews

Tour the most popular attractions of Tokyo & Kyoto, explore the rural areas of Japan, and attend the Takayama Spring Festival.

Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Save Status
Fri. Apr 11, 2025 Fri. Apr 18, 2025 US $3498.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sat. Apr 11, 2026 Sat. Apr 18, 2026 US $3498.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
    question mark icon         Tour#: GTQ0765310

Best of Japan Tour Spring (Reverse) arrow readmore icon

Himeji / Kurashiki / Hiroshima / Shimanami Kaido / Oobokekyo Gorge / Takamatsu / Kobe / Nara / Kyoto / Koka / Hikone / Hakone / Mt Fuji / Tokyo

    130 reviews

Perfect for those who want to visit the well known regions of Japan.

Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Save Status
Fri. Mar 7, 2025 Sun. Mar 16, 2025 US $4198.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sat. Apr 12, 2025 Mon. Apr 21, 2025 US $4198.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Fri. Apr 18, 2025 Sun. Apr 27, 2025 US $4198.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sat. May 17, 2025 Mon. May 26, 2025 US $4198.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Fri. May 23, 2025 Sun. Jun 1, 2025 US $4198.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sat. Mar 7, 2026 Mon. Mar 16, 2026 US $4198.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Fri. Apr 17, 2026 Sun. Apr 26, 2026 US $4198.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. May 17, 2026 Tue. May 26, 2026 US $4198.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Fri. May 22, 2026 Sun. May 31, 2026 US $4198.00 Osaka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now