header image

Owakudani

Home     >
Owakudani

Owakudani

Owakudani is a volcanic valley that has sulfur vents releasing fumes. The volcanic activity attracts the interest of many tourists. While there it is recommended to have the famed kuro tamago (black egg). It is a hard-boiled egg that was cooked in the hot springs with sulfuric properties. The black color comes from the chemical reaction with the sulfur in the water. It is said that eating one of the eggs will increase your life expectancy by seven years. They can be found along the short walking trail from the ropeway station. There are also hiking trails that lead to the peak of Mount Kamiyama and Mount Komagatake. There is also the Hakone Ropeway that goes over Owakudani. It is a thirty-minute ride starting from Sounzan and ending at Togendai station. From the ropeway you can see Lake Ashinoko, Mt. Fuji and the volcanic fume emitting from Owakudani.



Attraction Included Tours

    question mark icon         Tour#: GTN0759717

Best of Japan: Cherry Blossom Tour arrow readmore icon

Tokyo / Mt Fuji / Hakone / Hikone / Koka / Kyoto / Nara / Osaka / Himeji / Kurashiki / Hiroshima / Shimanami Kaido / Obokekyo Gorge / Takamatsu / Kobe

    130 reviews

Experience the best of Japan by visiting the country's top gardens, temples, and modern day sites during the cherry blossom season.

Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Save Status
Tue. Mar 18, 2025 Thu. Mar 27, 2025 US $4398.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Mon. Mar 24, 2025 Wed. Apr 2, 2025 US $4398.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Thu. Mar 27, 2025 Sat. Apr 5, 2025 US $4398.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. Mar 30, 2025 Tue. Apr 8, 2025 US $4398.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Mon. Apr 7, 2025 Wed. Apr 16, 2025 US $4398.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Mon. Mar 16, 2026 Wed. Mar 25, 2026 US $4398.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Mon. Mar 23, 2026 Wed. Apr 1, 2026 US $4398.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Wed. Mar 25, 2026 Fri. Apr 3, 2026 US $4398.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. Mar 29, 2026 Tue. Apr 7, 2026 US $4398.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. Apr 5, 2026 Tue. Apr 14, 2026 US $4398.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. Apr 12, 2026 Tue. Apr 21, 2026 US $4398.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
    question mark icon         Tour#: GTY0902484

Best of Japan Tour Spring: Kyoto Aoi Festival arrow readmore icon

Tokyo / Mt Fuji / Hakone / Hikone / Koka / Kyoto / Nara / Osaka / Himeji / Kurashiki / Hiroshima / Shimanami Kaido / Obokekyo Gorge / Takamatsu / Kobe

    130 reviews

Visit the most popular regions of Japan, sightsee the country's main cities, and observe the elegant Kyoto Aoi Festival.

Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Save Status
Sun. May 11, 2025 Wed. May 21, 2025 US $4598.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Mon. May 11, 2026 Thu. May 21, 2026 US $4598.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
    question mark icon         Tour#: GTU0264669

Best of Japan Tour Spring with Japanese Alps arrow readmore icon

Tokyo / Hakone / Mt Fuji / Matsumoto / Takayama / Shirakawa-go / Kanazawa / Kyoto / Nara / Osaka / Himeji / Kurashiki / Hiroshima / Shimanami Kaido / Obokekyo Gorge / Takamatsu / Kobe

    130 reviews

Visit top attractions in Tokyo & Kyoto as well as the country's hidden, mountainous regions during one of the most pleasant times of the year.

Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Save Status
Sat. May 17, 2025 Tue. May 27, 2025 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sat. May 16, 2026 Tue. May 26, 2026 US $4498.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
    question mark icon         Tour#: GTQ1706499

Best of Japan Tour Spring (Reverse): Wisteria Tunnel at Kawachi Fuji Gardens arrow readmore icon

Kitakyushu / Yamaguchi / Iwakuni / Hiroshima / Shimanami Kaido / Takamatsu / Kurashiki / Himeji / Kobe / Nara / Kyoto / Koka / Hikone / Hakone / Mt Fuji / Tokyo

    130 reviews

Perfect for those who want to visit the well known regions of Japan, plus the Wisteria Flower Tunnel at Kawachi Fuji Gardens

Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Save Status
Wed. Apr 29, 2026 Sat. May 9, 2026 US $4598.00 Fukuoka Tokyo Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
    question mark icon         Tour#: GTE1621727

Best of Japan with Japanese Alps: Cherry Blossom Tour arrow readmore icon

Tokyo / Hakone / Mt Fuji / Matsumoto / Takayama / Shirakawa-go / Kanazawa / Kyoto / Nara / Osaka / Himeji / Kurashiki / Hiroshima / Shimanami Kaido / Obokekyo Gorge / Takamatsu / Kobe

    130 reviews

Travel to the most well known regions of Japan and its rural areas too while admiring Japan's famous cherry trees.

Start Date End Date Twin/Triple Start City End City Style Save Status
Mon. Mar 17, 2025 Thu. Mar 27, 2025 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. Mar 23, 2025 Wed. Apr 2, 2025 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sat. Mar 29, 2025 Tue. Apr 8, 2025 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. Apr 6, 2025 Wed. Apr 16, 2025 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. Mar 15, 2026 Wed. Mar 25, 2026 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sun. Mar 22, 2026 Wed. Apr 1, 2026 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sat. Mar 28, 2026 Tue. Apr 7, 2026 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now  
Sat. Apr 4, 2026 Tue. Apr 14, 2026 US $4698.00 Tokyo Osaka Deluxe Guarantee / Book Now