AJT Logo

Chugoku | Hiroshima | Miyajima Island

Senjokaku Hall

SHARE
View
Saved
Tours
View
Saved
Tours
Reserve
Tours
Search
Tours

Senjokaku Hall

Senjokaku Hall was originally built to be a Buddhist library where the chanting of Buddhist sutras could be held every month. The construction of it began in 1587 but was discontinued 11 years later after Toyotomi Hideyoshi passed away. Tokugawa Ieyasu promptly took power afterwards, and the structure has remained unfinished to this day. Its name, “Senjokaku” (pavilion of 1000 mats), refers to the building’s spaciousness, which is indeed approximately the size of a thousand tatami mats.

Although the building itself is incomplete, it is the largest structure on Miyajima Island. The hall has been used in Shinto rituals and as a place to relax on its wide-open floors. Not to mention, there is a pleasant view of the Itsukushima Shrine and its surrounding scenery from the hall. Adjacent to the building is the vibrant five-storied pagoda known as Gojunoto. If the structure had been completed, it would have displayed the dynamic architectural style from the Azuchi Momoyama era.