Takamatsu Castle was constructed by Ikoma Chikamasa, the first feudal lord of the Takamatsu Han in 1590. Although the ruling authority of the Takamatsu Domain was transferred to the Matsudaira Clan in 1642, ending the 54 years of the ruling of the Ikoma Clan, Takamatsu Castle became the residence for the new clan rather than destroyed through the common power struggles during that time. This castle is one of the 3 famous “water castles” of Japan along with high rankings among the top 100 feudal castles, featured with its water front views of the Seto Inland Sea and defensive moats filled with sea water. Visitors can occasionally see fish swimming in the moats, a special site offered only in Shikoku Island and Kyushu Island. Little is left of the castle, also known as Tamamo Castle, due to the demolishment of feudal castles during the Meiji Period and damages incurred from World War 2. Today, visitors can stroll through the area of Tamamo Park which was opened to the public in 1955, covering an area of 79,587 square meters filled with a stone garden, cherry blossom trees, and pine trees. The Ushitora Yagura and Tsukimi Yagura turrets along with the Asahimon Gate are the only original structures standing with the stone walls of Takamatsu Castle. Situated at the center of the park, the Hiunkaku building features more than 142 tatami mats, a lavishly decorated recreation of the original residence for the Matsudaira Clan. The venue is now used for tea ceremonies, special exhibitions and banquets with pine trees planted during an official event by the Showa Emperor and Empress. Visitors can enjoy the views of the park and castle ruins on a scenic boat ride through the surrounding moats, an activity once only available for the elite samurai class of Japan.