Zuihoden Mausoleum (瑞鳳殿) was first built in 1637. Date Masamune, founding daimyo of Sendai, left instructions for a mausoleum to be built once he died in 1636. The following year it was built using a Momoyama style, which means elaborate wood carving decorations and color. This style traces back to the extravagance of the Azuchi-Momoyama period also known as the Sengoku Era. Date Masamune is not the only one who has a mausoleum on the Zuihoden grounds. Other Date clan leaders like Tadamune, son of Masamune, and Tsunamune, grandson of Masamune, have their own mausoleum. However, subsequent Date Clan leaders were not entombed in elaborate mausoleums, but had stone tablets erected. The Zuihoden was designated a National Treasure in 1931, but it was destroyed in World War II. The bombings in 1945 destroyed many of the buildings on the grounds, which were eventually rebuilt. Zuihoden was rebuilt in 1979, but in order to make it resemble much closer to the original it was repaired in 2001. The current Zuihoden is the result of the repair work done back then to resemble the original Momoyama style. There is also the Zuihoden Museum where it showcases personal items that once belonged to the Date family.