Don't know which tour is suitable for you?

Let us help you. Please tell us more about your interests. We will send some suggestions based on your needs.

Departure Date *
Number of Nights *
Your First Trip to Japan? *
Yes No
Travel Style *
What would you like to see and do?
Title *
Last Name *
Country *
Email Address *
Confirm Email Address *
You can also reach us by Phone (1-909-988-8885) or Whatsapp (1-909- 818-5901)
header image

Mikata Five Lakes

The Mikata Five Lakes have different concentration levels of salt and is also known as the “Five Colored Lakes.”

Mikata Five Lakes

The Mikata Five Lakes covers an area that goes from Mihama to Wakasa. These bodies of water are located in the Wakasa Wan Quasi National Park. The five lakes were designated protected wetlands under the Ramsar Convention in 2005. Lake Mikata, Lake Suigetsu, Lake Suga, Lake Kugushi, and Lake Hiruga make up the Mikata Five lakes, which are also known as the “Five Colored Lakes.” Each lake has a different concentration level of salt as well as unique color. Lake Suga, Kugushi, and Suigetsu have brackish water while Lake Mikata has fresh water and Lake Hiruga has ocean water. All of the lakes are connected by either channels or canals. Lake Suigetsu is the largest of the five and is located in the center. The primary source of the fresh water in Lake Mikata comes from the Hasu River. Surrounding the five lakes are over 80,000 plum trees, which bloom in colors of red and white. During the blooming period there is a sweet and fresh fragrance around the area.